What Happens if an Uninsured Motorist Hits Your Car in Sarasota, FL?
Every state has minimum insurance requirements for anyone owning or driving a vehicle. Florida law currently requires a minimum bodily injury liability of $10,000 per person, $20,000 per accident, $10,000 property damage per accident, and $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) per person. These requirements are in place so that you can always recover damages from the at-fault driver if necessary. However, not every driver on the road follows these requirements. According to a 2012 Insurance Research Council report, 15-26 percent of Florida drivers are uninsured. If you have been involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, contact an experienced Sarasota car accident attorney at Pallegar Law, P.A today.
Florida’s no-fault system provides some relief to those worried about uninsured drivers. This system requires that each person’s insurance pay for their own injuries. The state mandates that every person carry at least $10,000 in PIP coverage, which can pay for medical bills and lost wages. What if you are injured in excess of $10,000? This is where things get tricky with uninsured drivers.Collecting Compensation From Uninsured Drivers
If you are hit by an uninsured driver and consequently injured, your first thought might be “How can I pay for my medical bills?” Fortunately, PIP is designed to pay for most of your medical bills along with lost wages. This $10,000 in coverage works fine if your injuries are minor and medical bills are minimal.
If you are seriously injured and your medical costs exceed $10,000, you have the option to sue the driver at fault. However, if you have reason to believe they may not have assets, collecting damages may be difficult. For example, a common reason for driving while uninsured or underinsured is the rising costs of car insurance.
If you have been involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist, consult an aggressive Sarasota car accident attorney at Pallegar Law, P.A. We will help you understand your options and decide on a plan of action. Our goal is to help you get the medical attention that you need while we recover damages for your injuries.Protect Yourself from Uninsured Drivers
Florida law requires all insurance companies to offer some kind of uninsured motorist coverage. You are not required to buy it and you can decline the coverage if you would like. However, buying uninsured motorist coverage can protect you from uninsured drivers in the future.
There are a few kinds of coverage that you can buy to protect yourself in the future. Uninsured motorist coverage will apply if you are in an accident with an uninsured driver. Underinsured motorist coverage works in a similar way, for drivers who have minimal or low insurance. Collision coverage can pay for vehicle repairs and damages if you are in an accident with an uninsured driver or if you are the victim of a hit and run. These extra protections can provide you with peace of mind even if you are hit by a driver without insurance.Call Pallegar Law, P.A. Today
Contact a knowledgeable Sarasota car accident attorney today if you or someone you know was involved in an accident with an uninsured driver. Call Pallegar Law, P.A. at 941-893-5816.