Vehicular Homicide in Venice, FL
Reckless driving is a criminal offense. To convict an individual as a reckless driver, the judge or jury must come to the conclusion that the individual charged was driving with willful disregard for the safety of others or property. It the arresting officer’s decision if your driving was reckless. Although you may feel you are in control, you could be charged with reckless driving for a number of reasons. The most significant reckless driving charge is vehicular homicide. The Venice, Florida criminal defense attorneys at Pallegar Law represent individuals facing all kinds of charges including vehicular manslaughter.
According to Florida law, vehicular homicide or vehicular manslaughter is when a driver has killed another individual by operating a vehicle in a reckless manner. This offense is punishable by up to 15 years in prison. In many instances, actions that would permit a traffic infraction escalate to vehicular homicide because a death resulted from the accident.
If you are driving in a reckless manner and cause the death of another person or unborn child by injury to the mother, you could be convicted of vehicular manslaughter. Driving in any manner that could result in a fatality or great bodily harm is considered reckless driving. Even if you were not under the influence of alcohol or another substance, your reckless driving that resulted in a death could convict you for vehicular manslaughter under Florida law.
If you are charged with vehicular homicide, your penalties will depend on the circumstances of your case. Standard vehicular homicide cases are usually considered second-degree felonies punishable by up to 15 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
An aggravated offense is when a vehicular homicide involves a hit-and-run accident, which can be charged as a first-degree felony. If you leave the scene of the accident when you knew or should have known that the accident took place, without providing information about the accident or providing help to the victim, you could face an aggravated offense. If convicted, the charge is punishable by up to 30 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000. Vehicular homicide convictions will result in your license being revoked for at least three years.
Individuals with no prior record still face serious consequences if charged with vehicular manslaughter. That is why it is so important to seek counsel from a Venice, Florida criminal defense attorney at Pallegar Law, P.A.
A Venice, Florida criminal defense attorney from Pallegar Law, P.A. can offer a variation of defenses for a vehicular homicide charge. Most individuals facing vehicular manslaughter charges are threatened with a State prison sentence. Vehicular manslaughter lawyers at Pallegar law will try our best to absolve our clients. If the charges are not dismissed, we will do our best to keep our clients out of prison.
We understand that vehicular homicide is mostly accidental. It is important that you hire a Venice criminal defense attorney to represent you immediately after the accident. With former prosecutorial experience, we are familiar with the strategies used when investigating vehicular homicide. With this knowledge, we are able to provide a comprehensive defense. If you or someone you know has been charged with reckless driving or vehicular manslaughter, it is important that you contact a Venice, Florida criminal defense attorney at Pallegar Law (941) 893-5816 today for a free consultation.