In Florida, a person can be charged with theft if they purposely use or obtain another persons property with the intent to benefit from that property either permanently or temporarily, or use that property for his or her own benefit or any other persons benefit not entitled to that property. If you have been charged with the crime of theft, it is important to act quickly. Contact an aggressive Tampa theft attorney who specializes in criminal defense at Pallegar Law, P.A.
In order to be charged of the crime of theft, it must be proven that the defendant had a specific intent to use or to take property that belongs to another person. Defenses to a theft charge exist if you believed you had partial or full ownership of the property or that you had the consent of the property’s owner, or that you acted out of duress or pure necessity.
There are two kinds of theft that you may be charged with, depending on the value and the kind of item that was stolen or was believed to be stolen. Florida law distinguishes between felony grand theft (property valued at above $300) and misdemeanor petit theft (property valued at below $300).
Second-degree misdemeanor petit theft is a charge for the theft of property valued at below $100. If convicted of this crime, you may be incarcerated for a maximum of sixty days and fined $500. The theft of property between $100 and $300 is considered first-degree misdemeanor petit theft. If convicted, you may be incarcerated for a maximum of one year and fined $1,000. If you are convicted of petit theft and you have a previous theft conviction, you maybe charged with a first-degree misdemeanor. If you are convicted of petit theft and you have two prior theft convictions, you maybe charged with a third-degree felony. The degree of theft is important since it distinguishes whether you are charged with a misdemeanor or a felony. Hire an experienced Tampa theft lawyer at Pallegar Law, P.A. if you have been charged with any theft related crimes.
Third-degree grand theft is a charge for property valued between $300 and $19,999, firearms, motor vehicles, traffic signs, a commercially farmed animal, or 2,000 pieces of citrus fruit. If you are convicted of this crime, you may be incarcerated for a maximum of five years, and fined $5,000. For the theft of property valued between $20,000 and $99,999, the charge is second-degree grand theft. If you are convicted of this crime, you may be incarcerated for fifteen years and fined $10,000.
The most serious theft charge is first-degree grand theft. This is a charge for the theft of property valued at $100,000 or more, or theft in which the defendant caused more than $1,000 of damage to personal property. If you are convicted of first-degree grand theft, you may be incarcerated for thirty years, and fined $10,000.
If you or someone you know has been charged with theft, seek out an aggressive Tampa theft attorney who can help explore all possible defenses.
Call Pallegar Law, P.A. at 813-444-3912 (Tampa) or 941-893-5816 (Sarasota) to be connected with an aggressive Tampa theft attorney who can help.