Misdemeanor Theft vs Felony Grand Theft in Sarasota, FL
Generally, under Florida law, theft crimes are considered very serious criminal offenses and a conviction should be avoided at all costs if possible. The Sarasota theft crimes lawyers at Pallegar Law, P.A. believes the seriousness of theft crimes lies in the fact that they can be turned into a felony that may involve prison time and also theft offenses fall into the category of crimes of dishonesty involving moral turpitude. Convictions on theft offenses can directly affect how others judge your character trait for truthfulness and can be used against you in court to attack your credibility. Therefore, hiring the right Sarasota Criminal Defense Attorney to protect your rights is important. Let our attorney at Pallegar Law, P.A. fight for your rights.
Florida statute section 812.014 classifies theft offenses and punishments. Generally the crime of theft is considered when a person obtains the property of another with the intent to deprive that individual of the property even if not permanently and only for a short period of time. Under Florida law, theft crimes fall under a broad category and include burglary, fraud, grand theft auto as well as other theft defined crimes.First Degree Felony Grand Theft
You could be charged with first-degree grand theft if the property stolen had a value of over $100,000.00 or you take cargo valued over $50,000.00 that is in transit from one destination to another. The maximum punishment is thirty years in prison.Second Degree Felony Grand Theft
Theft is considered a felony second degree offense if the property stolen is valued at more than $20,000 but less than $100,000. Medical equipment taken from a hospital and law enforcement equipment taken from a police car valued at over $300.00 is also considered first-degree theft. The maximum punishment is fifteen years in prison.Third Degree Felony Grand Theft
You could be charged with third degree grand theft if the property stolen is over $300.00 but less than $20,000.00, a will, a firearm, a fire extinguisher, or 2000 pieces or more of fruit of the citrus variety, a stop sign, or even a drug that is considered a controlled substance. The maximum punishment for third-degree theft is five years in prison. With this lowest form of felony theft, as with most third degree crimes, if you are a first time offender a Sarasota theft crimes attorney may be able to get you into a diversion program that would lead to the dismissal of the charges. Contact an experienced attorney at Pallegar Law, P.A. by calling (941) 893.5816 to schedule a no-charge case analysis and to discuss the options available to resolve your case.First Degree Misdemeanor Theft
To be charged with first-degree misdemeanor theft the value of the items stolen ranges between $100.00 to $300.00. The maximum jail sentence is one year in the county jail.Second Degree Misdemeanor Theft
Anything under $100.00 is considered second-degree misdemeanor theft. The maximum sentence is six months in the county jail. Also, if you have two prior first-degree misdemeanor theft convictions the prosecutor may elevate your second-degree theft charge to a first-degree misdemeanor theft.Grand Theft Auto
Grand Theft Auto is considered a third degree felony and involves theft as it relates to a motor vehicle.
If you have been arrested for theft in Bradenton or Sarasota contact an attorney who has the experience and specializes in defending individuals charged with theft and retail theft related crimes. Our office is conveniently located between both the Bradenton and Sarasota courthouse and as Sarasota theft lawyers we maybe able to get your cases dismissed before you are formally charged. Call (941) 893.5816 to set up a no charge consultation today.