DUI/DWI in Venice, FL
You should take your drunk driving charge seriously. A conviction for a DUI will impact your life tremendously. A criminal record is restrictive and has the potential to complicate future opportunities such as employment, your future, and your freedom. Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a crime that is punishable in a number of ways depending on the specifics of your case. If you were arrested for a DUI you could face penalties including time in jail or prison. It is important to take your case seriously and hire a Venice criminal defense lawyer early on to help advise you through your criminal case.
In the State of Florida, it is considered driving under the influence when your breath or blood alcohol content is over a .08 on a Breathalyzer test, or if you are driving impaired under the influence of another substance. Law enforcement might have conducted other tests before you were arrested to determine your sobriety. It is possible that Venice criminal defense attorney could prove these tests inaccurate.
A DUI or DWI could result in a suspended license, fines and court costs, jail or prison time, and/or a permanent criminal record. As criminal defense lawyers in Venice we have experience reducing DUI charges to Reckless Driving, and in some cases we were able to have the cases completely dropped.
In Florida, penalties for DUIs become more severe with each conviction. First time offenders face less severe punishments than someone who has been convicted of a DUI in the past, since minimum mandatory punishments may apply. Most DUI cases in Florida are filed as misdemeanors. However, the penalties for DUI convictions are amplified if any of the following factors can be proven beyond a reasonable doubt: A BAC of .15 or more, a second DUI within 5 years of a prior DUI, a third DUI outside of ten years of any prior DUI, a crash that resulted in property damage or personal injury, or a child passenger under the age of 18 was present. A DUI can be considered a felony when it involves an accident that resulted in death or serious bodily harm, if there are two prior DUI convictions within the last ten years, or if this is the driver’s fourth DUI.
Under Florida law, when arrested for a DUI your license will be suspended for six months if it is your first offense. You will receive a 10-day permit on the date of the arrest. Once this permit expires, you must serve 30 days of suspension before applying for a hardship license. A hardship license allows an individual who has had their license revoked or suspended to drive under certain circumstances that are necessary, like to and from work. You must prove that the lack of a driver’s license has caused a hardship for your family. In Florida, to obtain a hardship license it is required that you take and pass a 12-hour traffic school program. At Pallegar Law, we have experienced Venice, Florida criminal defense attorneys who have helped numerous clients get their hardship license.
Choosing an attorney after being charged with a DUI is the single most important decision you can make. At Pallegar Law, we are professionals that specialize in the legal practice of DUI defense. We have defense strategies that will provide you with your best possible chance at a successful outcome. Call a Venice criminal defense attorney at Pallegar Law (941) 893-5816 today to begin fighting your DUI/DWI charge.