Consequences of DUI Arrest
When you are arrested for a DUI in Sarasota or Tampa, it is important that you contact an experienced DUI attorney right after you are released from jail. Hiring a Tampa DUI arrest defense attorney to work on your case early on can make a difference in the final outcome of your case. At Pallegar Law, P.A., we specialize in DUI defense, helping those charged with DUI related crimes every day.
In general, a DUI arrest can be made if the person is driving and has one or more of the following: a blood alcohol level of .08 or higher (.08 grams of alcohol per 100 mL of blood), a breath alcohol level of .08 or higher (.08 grams of alcohol per 210 L of breath), or if the driver is under the influence of any substance that impairs their ability to operate a motor vehicle.DUI Test Refusal and License Suspension
After you are arrested, you will typically be asked to submit to a breath alcohol test. Under the implied consent laws of Florida, refusal of this test means that your license will be suspended for a period of time. This does not mean that you will be unable to drive but that your complete driving privileges will be suspended. If it is your first DUI arrest you will qualify for a hardship drivers’ license with no interruption in your driving privileges. Even if you are not convicted of a DUI, the Florida Dept. of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FDHSMV) is likely to suspend your license if you are arrested for DUI.
If you take the breath test or refuse to submit to the test, you have ten days to challenge the suspension of your license. If you have a prior refusal on your record you will be charged with an additional misdemeanor for refusing to take a breath test in addition to an extended period of license suspension. A previous license suspension means that your license will be suspended for one year on a refusal and you will not qualify for a hardship license. A hardship license allows you to drive to specific locations, such as school, work, and medical or religious appointments.
After the DUI arrest, you will be taken to jail for a minimum of eight hours, and will have to pay usually a $500.00 bond for a first time DUI. The consequences and penalties for a DUI arrest in Sarasota can be very serious depending on the circumstances. Contacting an experienced Tampa DUI arrest defense attorney at Pallegar Law, P.A. will ensure that your case is resolved with the best possible outcome.DUI Penalties
The penalties for a DUI arrest vary depending on the results of your breath test and your prior DUI history. For a first offense, a DUI is considered a misdemeanor. It can include jail up to 180 days, a year of probation, a fine, community service, DUI school, and the impoundment of your car. These penalties are enhanced, and more severe, if the driver’s BAC is .15 or higher, or if a minor was in the vehicle at the time of the arrest. Enhanced penalties include the installation of an Interlock Ignition Device in the vehicle for six months, a steeper fine and the possibility of more jail time. However, if there was an accident that involved serious injury crime your DUI could be felonized.
If you have been arrested for a DUI, contact an experienced DUI lawyer in Sarasota or Tampa to find out how best to resolve your case. Call Pallegar Law, P.A. at 941-893-5816 or 813-444-3912 to be connected with a skilled Tampa DUI arrest defense attorney.